A liquor store POS has one job a general retail POS can treat as optional: stopping a sale to a minor at the register. Federal law withholds part of a state's highway funds if it allows purchase or public possession of alcohol by anyone under 21 (23 U.S.C. 158); the age rule, any ID-check requirement and the penalties are set by state law, and they differ. Texas's alcohol regulator says off-premises sellers must visually inspect and scan the buyer's ID, with disciplinary action for violations on or after September 1, 2027; California's describes a retailer's legal right to refuse service to anyone without adequate evidence of age and what makes an ID bona fide, without stating that a check is mandatory. Check your own state's regulator; a store's policy can always be stricter than the law. A POS can make the check hard to skip; it cannot do it for you.
What each system does at the register
| Square | Lightspeed Retail R-Series | Clover | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Age prompt on flagged items | Yes, on every plan (in-app confirmation) | Yes, a register rule prompts an ID scan before the sale | A terms message asking staff or the customer to confirm age |
| ID scanning | US and Canadian licenses and state IDs, on Plus or Premium, with a 2D scanner or an iOS camera | Yes, with supported Zebra scanners | Not described in Clover's documentation; ask your Clover seller |
| Override | Not described in Square's article | Manager override allowed, but never for an expired ID | Not described |
| Online sales | Not covered by the article | Register rules apply in-store only; online needs its own setup | Not described |
| Published entry price | $0 (Free); ID scanning needs Plus at $49 per location a month | R-Series pricing and register-rule availability must be confirmed separately; the published $89 Basic price is for X-Series | $16 a month for 36 months or $349 upfront (retail Basic, hardware included) |
Our pick: Square, on the Plus plan
For a single-location liquor store, Square is where we would start. The age prompt comes with every plan, and Plus adds what a liquor store actually needs: scanning the license instead of eyeballing a birth date. It is also our overall POS pick for small merchants, so inventory, payments and reporting come in the same system.
- Pick Lightspeed R-Series instead for a store with a deep catalog, several registers or a second location. Its register rule prompts an ID scan with supported scanners; a manager can override it, but Lightspeed states that an override can never approve an expired ID. Confirm the R-Series quote, supported hardware and register-rule availability before signing; do not use the X-Series price as its quote.
- Who should skip Clover for this: a store relying on the built-in step alone. Clover's own documentation describes a confirmation message, not an ID scan; ask your seller in writing how ID scanning would work, or choose another system.
Before you open the register
- Flag every alcohol and tobacco item as age-restricted, and test that the prompt appears.
- Set the minimum age per item to your state's rule.
- Train staff that a scan is evidence, not judgment: the photo still has to match the customer.
- If you also sell online, configure age checks there separately.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- official23 U.S.C. § 158, national minimum drinking ageUS Code (Legal Information Institute) · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: The federal rule withholding part of a state's highway apportionment (8 percent from fiscal year 2012) if purchase or public possession of alcohol by persons under 21 is lawful there; it does not itself regulate retailers or set ID-check procedures, which are state law.Open source ↗
- regulatorTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, age verificationTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission page stating that age verification is required in each off-premises sale by package store, wine and malt beverage retailer and retail dealer permit or license holders (with listed exceptions), that the seller must visually inspect and scan the buyer's ID, falling back to visual inspection when scanning is unavailable, that a minor is a person under 21, and that disciplinary action applies to violations on or after September 1, 2027; it does not cover other states.Open source ↗
- regulatorCalifornia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, checking identificationCalifornia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: California ABC licensee-education page stating that the legal drinking age in California is 21, that licensees have a legal right to refuse service to anyone who cannot produce adequate evidence of age, and describing the characteristics of bona fide identification under Business and Professions Code 25660; it does not state that checking ID is mandatory in every sale.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare Support: Sell age restricted items in the Square Retail POS appSquare · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Square's three age-check methods (an in-app confirmation prompt; date-of-birth entry and US or Canadian ID scanning on Plus or Premium plans), the 2D scanner or iOS camera requirement, and its statement that it is not responsible for sales to minors; it does not prove a store meets state law.Open source ↗
- vendorLightspeed Retail: Creating and selling items with register rulesLightspeed · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Lightspeed Retail R-Series age-restriction and purchase-limit register rules: an ID-scan prompt with supported Zebra scanners, manager override that cannot approve an expired ID, and rules applying to in-store sales only; it does not state which plans include the feature or prove legal compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClover developer docs: Manage age-restricted itemsClover · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clover's description of age-restricted item categories (alcohol, tobacco, OTC and pharmacy products) flagged in the Items list and a terms message at checkout requiring age confirmation; it does not describe ID scanning or prove legal compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare official product siteSquare · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small merchants evaluating an integrated POS, payment, hardware, and business-software ecosystem. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorLightspeed official product siteLightspeed · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Retail and hospitality operators evaluating deeper inventory or location workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClover official product siteClover · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small businesses evaluating a hardware-led POS distributed through merchant-service channels. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare pricing pageSquare · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Square's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Square Free plan ($0/month software; 2.6% + 15¢ in person) and the page details recorded with it (Plus $49 and Premium $149 per location/month), and a free plan (Yes, Square Free). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorLightspeed pricing pageLightspeed · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Lightspeed's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Basic (Retail) plan ($89/month) and the page details recorded with it (Billing basis not stated on the page), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorClover pricing pageClover · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clover's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Basic (retail) plan ($16/month for 36 months, or $349 upfront) and the page details recorded with it (Hardware included; 2.6% + 10¢ in person on Basic), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗