This register identifies the primary source, publisher and date checked. A source supports only the claims within its actual scope.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- standardsPCI Data Security StandardPCI Security Standards Council · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: The published PCI Data Security Standard requirements for payment account data environments; it does not certify a merchant, processor, integration or POS product.Open source ↗
- standardsPCI SSC Merchant ResourcesPCI Security Standards Council · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: PCI SSC merchant guidance for identifying validation responsibilities and SAQ starting points; it does not determine the validation path without the merchant's acquiring bank and actual environment.Open source ↗
- standardsPCI DSS and outsourced payment processingPCI Security Standards Council · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: PCI SSC guidance that outsourcing payment processing does not automatically remove merchant responsibilities; it does not define a specific merchant's final scope.Open source ↗
- regulatorUnderstanding Your Form 1099-KInternal Revenue Service · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: IRS explanation of Form 1099-K reporting, thresholds and reconciliation context; it does not establish the tax treatment of a specific payment or return.Open source ↗
- officialSouth Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc. opinionSupreme Court of the United States · checked Oct 6, 2026 · supports: The Supreme Court holding that physical presence is not a constitutional prerequisite for state sales-tax collection duties; it does not supply current state thresholds or filing rules.Open source ↗
- officialRemote Seller FAQsStreamlined Sales Tax Governing Board · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Multistate remote-seller registration and sales-tax FAQ context from the Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board; it does not replace confirmation of individual state rules and effective dates.Open source ↗
- vendorAmaka for QuickBooks (Square App Marketplace)Square · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Square App Marketplace listing for Amaka for QuickBooks, an app published by Amaka, a third party separate from Square, that syncs Square sales transactions and payments into QuickBooks Online as a single daily summary invoice, with default or custom account mapping, multiple locations, back-dated syncs and support from Amaka's own team; it does not publish line-level posting detail or prove a reconciled result for a specific account.Open source ↗
- vendorCommerce Sync for CloverCommerce Sync · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Commerce Sync's own description of its automated daily transfer of Clover sales into QuickBooks Online or Xero; Commerce Sync is a third-party intermediary with no stated relationship to Amaka, and the page is its own claim, not Clover documentation, and does not publish a posting map or support terms.Open source ↗
- vendorSetting up and connecting Lightspeed AccountingLightspeed · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Lightspeed Retail (R-Series) help article, published in Lightspeed's own help center, on Lightspeed Accounting, which synchronizes sales, payments, discounts and taxes with QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop or Xero; it does not state who resolves a failed sync or any support terms, cover other Lightspeed product lines, or prove a reconciled ledger.Open source ↗
- vendorXero and Square integrations (Xero App Store)Xero · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Xero App Store collection of apps that sync Square sales, refunds, fees and tax rates into Xero; it lists several apps rather than one supported connector and does not establish a specific app's posting behavior.Open source ↗
- vendorShopify integration by Xero (Xero App Store)Xero · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Xero-built integration that syncs Shopify sales, payouts, fees and taxes, including Shopify POS sales, as daily summaries or individual transactions; it does not prove the clearing-account design of a specific merchant.Open source ↗
- vendorWooCommerce Square extension documentationWooCommerce · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: WooCommerce documentation for its Square extension, which syncs products and inventory between WooCommerce and Square, with separate setup guides for the Square-to-WooCommerce and WooCommerce-to-Square directions, a bidirectional order fulfillment sync, and use as a payment gateway; it does not prove conflict handling for a specific catalog or hosting setup.Open source ↗
- vendorWooCommerce Square sync settingsWooCommerce · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: WooCommerce Square extension sync-settings page: the merchant chooses which platform is the source of truth (system of record) for product data, WooCommerce pushing product updates to Square or Square pulling product updates into WooCommerce, alongside inventory sync, a sync interval and an order fulfillment sync that is disabled by default; it does not prove conflict handling, recovery after a failed sync or behavior for a specific catalog.Open source ↗
- vendorGetting started with In-Person Payments with StripeWooCommerce · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: WooCommerce documentation for in-person payments through the Stripe extension and the Woo mobile app, with supported card readers, Tap to Pay and country requirements; it covers payment acceptance, not a separate POS catalog synchronization.Open source ↗
- vendorPayPal POS for WooCommerce documentationWooCommerce · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: WooCommerce documentation for PayPal POS for WooCommerce, where WooCommerce is the product source of truth and stock syncs in both directions through webhooks; it notes that older logs are stored under the zettle-pos-integration name and that the site must accept requests from zettle.com hosts; it does not state that PayPal POS and PayPal Zettle are the same product or prove behavior during a webhook or hosting failure.Open source ↗
- vendorGet Started With the DoorDash IntegrationToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support article on its direct DoorDash integration: Marketplace and Caviar orders sent to the Toast POS, menu sync and DoorDash sales in Toast reporting, with setup steps and a list of features the integration does not support, including prep-time delays or throttling, time-specific pricing, pre-modifiers, prompt for quantity, modifier size or sequence pricing and viewing future scheduled orders; it does not guarantee availability for a given location or package.Open source ↗
- vendorTouchBistro and DoorDash MarketplaceTouchBistro · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: TouchBistro product page stating that DoorDash Marketplace orders are received on TouchBistro POS with menu management in one place; it does not document limits, setup steps or error handling.Open source ↗
- vendorSpotOn DoorDash integrationSpotOn · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: SpotOn product page describing DoorDash orders routed into SpotOn and kitchen printers or KDS, menu sync from SpotOn to DoorDash, DoorDash sales in SpotOn reporting, and the option to list on DoorDash Marketplace, take commission-free direct orders through DoorDash Online Ordering, or use DoorDash Drive delivery with SpotOn Order; it does not document limits or failure handling.Open source ↗
- vendorSpotOn restaurant POS systemSpotOn · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: SpotOn restaurant POS page, which lists bar and pub, brewery, quick service and cafe and bakery among its restaurant types, and whose FAQ says the restaurant POS is often deployed in a few days, that a dedicated onboarding specialist guides setup, menu programming and staff training, that restaurants receive 24/7 customer support after installation, and that packages include hardware, installation, training and 24/7 support; it does not cover salons, retail or other non-restaurant businesses, define support response times, or publish contract term, cancellation or equipment-ownership conditions beyond describing pricing as having no long-term commitment.Open source ↗
- vendorSetting up the Shopify integration (Retail POS X-Series)Lightspeed · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Lightspeed Retail (X-Series) help article on its Shopify integration, which treats Retail POS as the system of record and shares product, inventory, customer and sales data with stated sync limits: updates made in Shopify may be overwritten or cause syncing issues, images attached to Shopify products do not sync to Retail POS, products can no longer be sold exclusively on Shopify and a Shopify product missing from the catalog is created in Retail POS automatically, and barcodes sync once from Shopify to Retail POS at initial setup unless Support enables two-way syncing; it does not cover other Lightspeed product lines or prove sync behavior for a specific catalog.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare and Shopify Integration (Square Community)Square · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: A Square Community moderator reply dated 2025 stating that Square does not integrate with Shopify; it is a dated vendor statement, not an assessment of third-party connectors.Open source ↗
- vendorProcess offline paymentsSquare · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Square Support article on offline card payments: excluded payment methods, time limits for taking and uploading offline payments, and the seller's responsibility for declined or expired payments; it does not cover every device or configuration.Open source ↗
- vendorSet up online bookingSquare · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Square Support article "Set up online booking": clients book appointments through a free Square Appointments booking site, an embedded widget or button, or a Square Online website, choosing the location, the services and a preferred staff member, and bookings sync with Appointments and the point of sale app; online booking is listed for Square Appointments Free, Plus and Premium subscribers; it does not publish plan prices, does not cover deposits, no-show rules or rebooking reminders, and does not prove calendar behavior for a specific salon.Open source ↗
- vendorSet up and manage commissionsSquare · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Square Support article "Set up and manage commissions": commission tracking with no rate, a flat rate per team member, or value- or volume-based tiers, available to Square Appointments Premium, Square Plus, Square Premium and certain other Premium or Plus subscribers; when a team member is assigned to an appointment they are attributed to the sale and receive its commission and tips, attribution is recorded at the time of sale and cannot be updated afterward, and Square Payroll subscribers can import commissions into a payroll run; it does not publish plan prices, does not describe separate service and retail rates for one team member, does not cover booth rent or tip splits between two staff, and does not prove a correct pay report for a specific salon.Open source ↗
- vendorUse Toast in Offline ModeToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support article on Offline Mode: automatic entry after a lost connection (the article says the Offline Mode banner appears after about 40 seconds without a connection), the instruction to stick to one device per employee so order and payment information stays together, background card processing with pending authorizations, unavailable functions, delayed reporting and the merchant's responsibility for declined, expired or disputed offline payments; it is optimized for Toast hardware and does not guarantee outcomes.Open source ↗
- vendorPublish Changes in Toast WebToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support article on publishing changes in Toast Web (last updated September 15, 2026): Multi-Location Management (MLM) customers publish menu and configuration changes for multiple locations from one Publish Config page, the article advises coordinating so team members do not overlap edits at the same location, and scheduled publishing groups menu changes into a change set that publishes automatically at a future date and time for restaurants on Toast Multi-Location Management or a Restaurant Management suite; it does not publish the price of those plans, does not describe opening a new location from a template, and does not prove how a specific group's menus or locations will be configured.Open source ↗
- vendorToast Location Reports OverviewToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support article on Location reports (last updated April 8, 2026): the Location Overview report compares sales growth and labor costs among locations and across date ranges, and the Location Breakdown report shows aggregated sales, discount and item-quantity metrics across several locations with day-of-week or hourly filters; it does not state which Toast plan includes these reports, does not cover inventory or accounting consolidation, and does not prove reporting accuracy for a specific group.Open source ↗
- vendorToast Credit Card Processing and Billing FAQToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support FAQ on credit card processing and billing, which answers 'Can I use a different credit card processor with Toast?' with 'No. You must use Toast's processing services', states that Toast is the merchant's sole processor and that no other processor can run alongside Toast, and says a merchant leaving a former processor must contact that processor to disable it; it does not state whether Toast hardware is required or which third-party devices work, does not cover hardware lease terms, and does not publish rates or contract exit terms.Open source ↗
- vendorLightspeed Payments offline mode with Retail POS (X-Series)Lightspeed · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Lightspeed Retail (X-Series) help article on Lightspeed Payments offline mode, a beta feature limited to the Smart Terminal that must be enabled in advance, stores keyed-in payments not linked to a sale until the connection returns, and makes the merchant responsible for expired or declined offline transactions; it does not cover other Lightspeed products or devices.Open source ↗
- vendorSelling in offline mode (Retail POS X-Series)Lightspeed · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Lightspeed Retail (X-Series) help article on selling in offline mode on the Retail POS register: a backup mode that keeps cash sales, new customers and products, and parked sales available, stores unsynced sales locally and syncs them on reconnection, while integrated card payments, gift cards, loyalty and inventory views are unavailable; it does not cover other Lightspeed product lines or guarantee recovery of unsynced sales.Open source ↗
- official23 U.S.C. § 158, national minimum drinking ageUS Code (Legal Information Institute) · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: The federal rule withholding part of a state's highway apportionment (8 percent from fiscal year 2012) if purchase or public possession of alcohol by persons under 21 is lawful there; it does not itself regulate retailers or set ID-check procedures, which are state law.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare Support: Sell age restricted items in the Square Retail POS appSquare · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Square's three age-check methods (an in-app confirmation prompt; date-of-birth entry and US or Canadian ID scanning on Plus or Premium plans), the 2D scanner or iOS camera requirement, and its statement that it is not responsible for sales to minors; it does not prove a store meets state law.Open source ↗
- vendorLightspeed Retail: Creating and selling items with register rulesLightspeed · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Lightspeed Retail R-Series age-restriction and purchase-limit register rules: an ID-scan prompt with supported Zebra scanners, manager override that cannot approve an expired ID, and rules applying to in-store sales only; it does not state which plans include the feature or prove legal compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClover developer docs: Manage age-restricted itemsClover · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clover's description of age-restricted item categories (alcohol, tobacco, OTC and pharmacy products) flagged in the Items list and a terms message at checkout requiring age confirmation; it does not describe ID scanning or prove legal compliance.Open source ↗
- standardsMerchant Surcharging Considerations and RequirementsVisa · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Visa's Merchant Surcharging Considerations and Requirements (version 08142023): merchants must notify their acquirer 30 days before surcharging, surcharges apply only to credit transactions in the U.S. and territories, debit and prepaid cannot be surcharged, the surcharge may not exceed the cost of acceptance and never 3 percent, disclosure is required at the point of entry and point of sale and the surcharge must be itemized on the receipt, and it lists Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Oklahoma as prohibiting or limiting surcharging; it is a card-network document, not state law.Open source ↗
- standardsMerchant Surcharging Q&AVisa · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Visa's Merchant Surcharging Q&A (version 02152024): Visa's understanding as of February 15, 2024 that Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, Oklahoma and Puerto Rico prohibit surcharging and Colorado, Minnesota, New Jersey and New York regulate it, with a caveat that it may contain errors and is not legal advice; a cash discount requires showing only the card price or card and cash prices side by side; debit and prepaid cannot be surcharged; acquirers may be fined for improper surcharging; a merchant with outlets in several states follows the law of the state where each outlet is located; it does not settle any state's current law.Open source ↗
- officialNew York General Business Law § 518, credit card surcharge notice requirementNew York State Senate · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: New York General Business Law section 518 (revision of February 16, 2024): a seller imposing a credit card surcharge must clearly and conspicuously post the total price for using a credit card, the surcharge may not exceed the amount charged to the business by the card company, two-tier cash and credit pricing remains allowed, and violations carry a civil penalty of up to five hundred dollars; it does not cover other states.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare help, can I apply a surcharge to Square sales?Square · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Square help article stating that U.S. sellers can surcharge credit card transactions in an open beta, that configurations are capped at 3 percent of the total transaction, that surcharging is not available to businesses in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts or Puerto Rico, that ACH, debit, tips, offline and split tender payments cannot be surcharged, and that surcharge notices must be displayed; it does not decide whether a seller complies with state law.Open source ↗
- vendorClover developer documentation, transaction data: charges and feesClover · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clover developer documentation stating that Clover configures the surcharge rate when the merchant is onboarded (not merchant editable), that most U.S. merchants have a 3.00 percent surcharge, that surcharges apply only to eligible credit cards and not to debit or cash, and that surcharging is offered in the United States excluding states with legal restrictions or prohibitions; it does not state fees or which states are excluded.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare help, accept EBT SNAP paymentsSquare · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Square help article stating that EBT SNAP payments are accepted on Square Register, Square Terminal and Square Handheld (not Square Stand or other iOS devices), that an active USDA FNS number is required, that items must be marked SNAP eligible, that EBT cannot run offline, that EBT Cash (TANF) is not supported, that Square separates eligible items and applies EBT to that portion, that refunds go back to the same card and that the EBT processing fee is 1.8 percent plus 5 cents per transaction; it does not decide FNS eligibility.Open source ↗
- vendorClover developer documentation, Clover support for EBTClover · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clover developer documentation stating that EBT is supported on Clover Mini, Mobile, Flex, Compact, Station Solo and Station Duo, that customers choose EBT SNAP/Food or EBT Cash, that the merchant needs a valid FNS number and that EBT must be enabled by Clover (not self-service), that partial authorizations cannot be performed on EBT but Clover checks the balance first, authorizes up to the available amount and triggers a workflow for the remainder to be paid with another tender, and that offline EBT is not supported; it does not state fees.Open source ↗
- regulator7 CFR 278.1, approval of retail food stores and wholesale food concerns (1-1-25 edition)U.S. Government Publishing Office · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: 7 CFR 278.1 (1-1-25 edition): FNS approves or denies a retail food store application within 45 days of a completed application, a store qualifies by offering on a continuous basis at least seven varieties in each of four staple food categories with three stocking units each and perishables in at least three categories (Criterion A) or by having more than 50 percent of total gross retail sales in staple foods (Criterion B), and firms with more than 50 percent of sales in foods cooked or heated on site are not eligible as retail food stores; it does not evaluate any POS.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare help, NCWM regulation standards for integrated scalesSquare · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Square help article stating that Square changed its scale handling to meet NCWM rules from January 27, 2026 in retail mode and February 17, 2026 in standard mode: tare must be cleared between items, weighed-item prices use banker's rounding, tare appears on receipts, weights can no longer be entered manually when a scale is connected, and Brecknell scales need a configuration update; it disclaims legal advice and does not certify any device.Open source ↗
- vendorToast, scale seals and certifications FAQToast · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Toast's scale seals and certifications FAQ (updated October 27, 2026): an NTEP Certificate of Conformance means a device meets Handbook 44, a commercial scale must be inspected and approved by a state inspector or placed in service by a registered service company and then sealed, businesses selling by weight need an approved legal-for-trade device, and Toast lists which scales it considers NTEP-compliant with Toast POS (Zebra MP7xxx and Datalogic Magellan 8xxx and 9xxx; not Brecknell or Detecto; CAS only with two built-in displays, one facing the guest, and tare absent or disabled, single-display CAS excluded); it does not certify a merchant's installation.Open source ↗
- regulatorNew York State Department of Agriculture and Markets, device approvalNew York State Department of Agriculture and Markets · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: New York Department of Agriculture and Markets page stating that all commercially used weighing and measuring devices must be approved before use in New York, that the State adopts NIST Handbook 44 and accepts devices bearing an NTEP Certificate of Conformance number as approved; it does not describe municipal inspection or other states' rules.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare press release, Thrive partnership for Shopify sync (December 2025)Square · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Square press release dated December 16, 2025 announcing an expanded partnership with Thrive, a third-party integration available to U.S. sellers that syncs catalogs, inventory and sales between Square and Shopify, with catalog items created and edited in Square syncing to Shopify, stock quantities adjusting in both directions and Square as the source of truth; sign-up goes through Thrive and no price is published; it does not prove sync reliability.Open source ↗
- vendorHelcim help, what is Helcim Fee SaverHelcim · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Helcim help article (August 7, 2026) on Fee Saver: merchants can switch on a surcharge on in-person credit card payments on the Smart Terminal at 3 percent in the US, in-person debit payments cannot be surcharged, the in-person feature is unavailable in Connecticut, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts and Oklahoma, and online the fee works as a convenience fee for card versus ACH payments; it does not decide whether a merchant complies with state law.Open source ↗
- regulatorUSDA FNS final rule, Updated Staple Food Stocking Standards for Retailers in SNAP (91 FR 25082, May 8, 2026)U.S. Government Publishing Office · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: USDA FNS final rule published May 8, 2026 (91 FR 25082), effective July 7, 2026 with implementation required by November 4, 2026: retailers must meet the 2014 Farm Bill stocking standard of seven staple food varieties in each of four categories (up from three) and perishables in three categories (up from two), codified in 2016 but not enforced because of appropriations language, with a new framework defining distinct varieties; it does not evaluate any POS.Open source ↗
- standardsNCWM, NTEP frequently asked questionsNational Conference on Weights and Measures · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: NCWM's NTEP FAQ stating that many states require a device to have an NTEP Certificate of Conformance before installation in a commercial application, with limited exceptions for type evaluation, and describing NTEP as an evaluation of device types; it does not set any state's inspection or registration procedure.Open source ↗
- vendorHelcim, interchange-plus pricing explainedHelcim · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Helcim's interchange-plus page explaining that the base cost is a variable fee made up of interchange fees paid to the card-issuing bank and card-network fees, with Helcim's margin added on top; it does not prove a total cost for a given merchant.Open source ↗
- regulatorTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, age verificationTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission page stating that age verification is required in each off-premises sale by package store, wine and malt beverage retailer and retail dealer permit or license holders (with listed exceptions), that the seller must visually inspect and scan the buyer's ID, falling back to visual inspection when scanning is unavailable, that a minor is a person under 21, and that disciplinary action applies to violations on or after September 1, 2027; it does not cover other states.Open source ↗
- regulatorCalifornia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, checking identificationCalifornia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: California ABC licensee-education page stating that the legal drinking age in California is 21, that licensees have a legal right to refuse service to anyone who cannot produce adequate evidence of age, and describing the characteristics of bona fide identification under Business and Professions Code 25660; it does not state that checking ID is mandatory in every sale.Open source ↗
- vendorStripe documentation, Terminal integration optionsStripe · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Stripe's Terminal documentation listing integration options: a custom POS built with SDKs or the API, Tap to Pay, apps on Stripe smart readers, no-code ready-made Terminal apps in preview, third-party POS, hardware and commerce integrations that use Terminal without code, and gateway partners; it does not evaluate any third-party POS.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare official product siteSquare · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small merchants evaluating an integrated POS, payment, hardware, and business-software ecosystem. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare release notes, October 8, 2026Square · checked Oct 11, 2026 · supports: Vendor announcement of Square Multi-Account Suite for franchises and other complex businesses: centralized menus, catalogs and point-of-sale layouts across accounts, access settings for central and local teams, organization reporting, shared gift cards, managed feature releases, and sign-up through an account manager or sales. It publishes no price or eligibility criteria and does not prove fit for a given franchise.Open source ↗
- vendorUnderstand Square organization membership for Square Multi-Account SuiteSquare · checked Oct 11, 2026 · supports: Vendor help article stating that a Square organization links member accounts under a central operator, that membership does not change account ownership, that members still control their credentials, payment processing and day-to-day operations, that the Square account team adds members, and that members cannot add or remove themselves. It does not state pricing, contract terms or eligibility, refers to separate Multi-Account Suite terms of service, and does not say whether a member can process payments outside Square.Open source ↗
- vendorShopify POS official product siteShopify POS · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Retailers evaluating one commerce workflow across Shopify ecommerce and in-person selling. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorToast official product siteToast · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Restaurants evaluating a restaurant-centered POS and operating stack. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClover official product siteClover · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small businesses evaluating a hardware-led POS distributed through merchant-service channels. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorLightspeed official product siteLightspeed · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Retail and hospitality operators evaluating deeper inventory or location workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorHelcim official product siteHelcim · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: US and Canadian merchants evaluating payments and POS economics together. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorStripe Terminal official product siteStripe Terminal · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Software-led businesses evaluating developer-controlled in-person payments within a Stripe stack. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorPayPal Zettle official product sitePayPal Zettle · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small and mobile sellers evaluating a straightforward PayPal-connected in-person checkout. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorTouchBistro official product siteTouchBistro · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Independent restaurants evaluating front-of-house and guest-management workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorSpotOn official product siteSpotOn · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Restaurants and local businesses evaluating POS, payments, and customer operations together. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare pricing pageSquare · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Square's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Square Free plan ($0/month software; 2.6% + 15¢ in person) and the page details recorded with it (Plus $49 and Premium $149 per location/month), and a free plan (Yes, Square Free). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorToast pricing pageToast · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Toast's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Starter Kit plan (From $0/month) and the page details recorded with it (Point of Sale plan from $69/month; no card rate published), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorClover pricing pageClover · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clover's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Basic (retail) plan ($16/month for 36 months, or $349 upfront) and the page details recorded with it (Hardware included; 2.6% + 10¢ in person on Basic), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorLightspeed pricing pageLightspeed · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Lightspeed's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Basic (Retail) plan ($89/month) and the page details recorded with it (Billing basis not stated on the page), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorHelcim pricing pageHelcim · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Helcim's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Pay-as-you-go plan ($0/month; interchange + 0.40% + 8¢ in person) and the page details recorded with it (Card reader $199), and a free plan (Yes, no monthly fee). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorStripe Terminal pricing pageStripe Terminal · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Stripe Terminal's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Pay-as-you-go plan ($0/month; 2.7% + 5¢ in person) and the page details recorded with it (Developer platform; Stripe Reader M2 $59), and a free plan (Yes, no monthly fee). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorPayPal Zettle pricing pagePayPal Zettle · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: PayPal Zettle's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its PayPal POS plan ($0/month; 2.29% + 9¢ in person) and the page details recorded with it (First card reader $29), and a free plan (Yes, free POS app). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorTouchBistro pricing pageTouchBistro · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: TouchBistro's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Point of Sale plan (From $69/month) and the page details recorded with it (Hardware and payment processing extra), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorSpotOn pricing pageSpotOn · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: SpotOn's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its All-In (restaurant) plan ($0 per station/month; 2.79% + 20¢ card present) and the page details recorded with it (Two-year minimum term and processing minimums), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorStripe Terminal: enterprise capabilities and custom pricingStripe · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Stripe advertises multiprocessor support under enterprise capabilities and custom pricing; this does not establish supported processors, device compatibility, portability or the price for any given buyer.Open source ↗
- officialDOL Fact Sheet 15: Tipped Employees Under the FLSAU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: DOL Fact Sheet 15 as read on October 28, 2026: a compulsory service charge, for example 15 percent of the bill, is not a tip; managers and supervisors, defined by a duties test (primary duty managing the enterprise or a department, customarily directing the work of at least two full-time employees or their equivalent, and authority to hire or fire or recommendations given particular weight) or as owners with at least a 20 percent equity interest who actively manage, may not keep employees' tips or receive pooled tips but may keep tips received directly for service they directly and solely provide; an employer may not keep employees' tips for any purpose; when tips are charged on a credit card, the employer may not reduce them by more than the card company's transactional fee, and that fee may not reduce the employee's wage below the required minimum wage; the minimum cash wage for a tipped employee is $2.13 an hour with a maximum tip credit of $5.12 against the $7.25 minimum wage, and an employer taking a tip credit may pool tips only among employees who customarily receive tips. It does not state state law, which may be stricter.Open source ↗
- vendorToast support: Get Started With Service Charges and Mandatory GratuityToast · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Toast's help article as read on October 28, 2026: the setting Assign to check owner (Gratuity?) set to Yes makes a charge a mandatory gratuity paid to the check owner as non-tip income, set to No makes it an employer-kept service charge counted in net sales that does not appear in Toast Payroll; mandatory gratuities can be selected as a source in a tip-pooling policy; state law may differ from the federal treatment. It does not prove a restaurant's legal compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare help: Set up tip poolingSquare · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Square's help article as read on October 28, 2026: tip pools are created under Staff, Settings, Tips, tallied per transaction, daily or weekly and split equally, by percentage, by hours worked or per recipient; a Tip eligible toggle on each team member's profile excludes managers; the feature is available to Square Plus and Premium subscribers and some Premium editions. It does not address card-fee deductions from tips or service charges.Open source ↗
- vendorPayPal: Tap to Pay on your phonePayPal · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: PayPal's Tap to Pay page as read on October 28, 2026: merchants download the PayPal app from the App Store or Google Play to use Tap to Pay, on iPhone XS and later and on Android 8.0 and later with NFC and Google Play services, phones only and not tablets, no monthly fee or setup cost, and a per-transaction rate of 2.29% on credit and debit card payments, subject to change; it does not mention a fixed per-transaction fee or limits.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare: Tap to Pay on iPhoneSquare · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Square's Tap to Pay page as read on October 28, 2026: Tap to Pay on iPhone XS or later running iOS 15.5 or later at 2.6% + 15 cents per tap, no long-term contract, transaction limits may apply and some contactless cards may not be accepted; it does not describe Android Tap to Pay or a monthly fee.Open source ↗
- vendorStripe Terminal: Tap to PayStripe · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Stripe's Tap to Pay page as read on October 28, 2026: Tap to Pay on iPhone and on NFC Android devices certified by Google, available in the United States, offered to developers through the Stripe Terminal iOS and Android SDKs without separate Terminal hardware; it does not state a Tap to Pay rate or describe the no-code Dashboard app.Open source ↗
- vendorStripe docs: accept in-person payments without codeStripe · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Stripe's documentation as read on October 28, 2026: three no-code ways to accept in-person payments, including Tap to Pay in the Stripe Dashboard mobile app on iOS (iPhone XS or later, passcode and iCloud sign-in) or a supported Android device with NFC, for contactless cards and NFC wallets, priced under Stripe's pay-as-you-go Terminal and Tap to Pay pricing; it does not state the US Tap to Pay fee or describe a catalog-based POS.Open source ↗