The two products at a glance

ProductWho it fitsWho should skip itPublished entry priceFree plan
ToastRestaurants evaluating a restaurant-centered POS and operating stackThe buyer runs general retail or wants broad processor and hardware independenceFrom $0/monthStarter Kit planPoint of Sale plan from $69/month; no card rate publishedVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗No
TouchBistroIndependent restaurants evaluating front-of-house and guest-management workflowsThe buyer operates retail or needs a general commerce platformFrom $69/monthPoint of Sale planHardware and payment processing extraVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗No

Prices are the entry list prices each vendor publishes on its own US pricing page, read on Oct 27, 2026. They exclude taxes, payment processing unless stated, hardware, add-ons and negotiated discounts; a promotion appears only in the notes, labeled as one. Prices change. No vendor paid for a place or a price in this table.

Both products are sold to restaurants, so "restaurant POS" does not separate them. Their published positioning does. TouchBistro is aimed at independent restaurants and centers on front-of-house and guest management. Toast is pitched as a restaurant-wide operating stack. Both are evaluated here against published criteria; neither system was tested in service.

One dining room, one difficult table

An independent restaurant has a single room and one kitchen. On a Friday, a party is seated late, moves two seats to join friends, adds a course, changes a dish after it was sent, splits the check three ways, and gets a manager comp. The original server's shift ends before the table pays.

Where the restaurant's pain actually sits

Three restaurant-level factors split these two products:

  1. Floor versus kitchen. If most mistakes happen between the host stand and the table (lost reservations, guest preferences nobody saw, checks stuck with a server who left), the floor is the problem. If they happen between the pass and the line (dishes fired early, modifications that never reached a station), the kitchen is.
  2. One site versus several. A venue that will stay a single room has no use for central menu and reporting control. A group opening a second site within the contract term does. Toast's support center documents both halves for groups: Multi-Location Management customers publish menu changes for several locations from one Publish Config page, and its location reports compare sales and labor across sites. Ask Toast what that plan costs, because the articles do not say.
  3. Who processes the cards. Toast's billing FAQ says a Toast merchant must use Toast's processing services and that no other processor can run alongside it, so a room locked into a processor it wants to keep should not start with Toast. That FAQ is silent on hardware, so ask in the proposal which devices are required and whether current ones can stay. Put the same processor and hardware questions to TouchBistro rather than assuming its answer.

The verdict for this restaurant

Choose TouchBistro. The Friday table's trouble is a floor problem: seating changes, a guest group that merges, and a check that must change hands at shift close. TouchBistro's positioning sits squarely on that front-of-house and guest work, and a single room does not need a restaurant-wide stack.

Choose Toast if the same restaurant tells a different story: the kitchen runs several stations with coursed tickets, or a second location is coming and the owner wants one menu pushed to both rooms. Toast's restaurant-wide positioning and its documented multi-location publishing then justify whatever extra setup it needs.

What the wrong pick looks like

  • Toast for a one-room bistro whose problems are at the host stand: the owner is likely to pay for kitchen configuration it does not use, may train staff on more screens, and hands its card processing to Toast, which the billing FAQ makes a condition of using the POS.
  • TouchBistro for a venue whose kitchen is the bottleneck: this guide's source for TouchBistro covers its front-of-house and guest positioning, not kitchen display or multi-location tools. If the venue depends on either, demand current dated documentation and a live demo of a coursed order with a late change reaching the right station. If the vendor cannot show it, the table will be right and the food will be late.

Rehearse the Friday table

Run the scenario above on both demos with a synthetic menu and two prep stations. Move the seats, hold and fire a course, change a modifier after sending, split the check by guest, and transfer the open table to a manager without sharing a login. Then cut the network for one device and see what each system shows the server. This rehearsal was not performed for this page.

At the end, export checks, tips, payments, and the guest record. Ask each vendor which card-security tasks remain with the restaurant under the proposed processing arrangement, and check the answer against PCI Security Standards Council merchant resources.

Traceable evidence

Sources for this decision

7 sources
  1. vendorToast official product siteToast · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Restaurants evaluating a restaurant-centered POS and operating stack. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  2. vendorTouchBistro official product siteTouchBistro · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Independent restaurants evaluating front-of-house and guest-management workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  3. vendorToast Credit Card Processing and Billing FAQToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support FAQ on credit card processing and billing, which answers 'Can I use a different credit card processor with Toast?' with 'No. You must use Toast's processing services', states that Toast is the merchant's sole processor and that no other processor can run alongside Toast, and says a merchant leaving a former processor must contact that processor to disable it; it does not state whether Toast hardware is required or which third-party devices work, does not cover hardware lease terms, and does not publish rates or contract exit terms.
    Open source ↗
  4. vendorPublish Changes in Toast WebToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support article on publishing changes in Toast Web (last updated September 15, 2026): Multi-Location Management (MLM) customers publish menu and configuration changes for multiple locations from one Publish Config page, the article advises coordinating so team members do not overlap edits at the same location, and scheduled publishing groups menu changes into a change set that publishes automatically at a future date and time for restaurants on Toast Multi-Location Management or a Restaurant Management suite; it does not publish the price of those plans, does not describe opening a new location from a template, and does not prove how a specific group's menus or locations will be configured.
    Open source ↗
  5. vendorToast Location Reports OverviewToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support article on Location reports (last updated April 8, 2026): the Location Overview report compares sales growth and labor costs among locations and across date ranges, and the Location Breakdown report shows aggregated sales, discount and item-quantity metrics across several locations with day-of-week or hourly filters; it does not state which Toast plan includes these reports, does not cover inventory or accounting consolidation, and does not prove reporting accuracy for a specific group.
    Open source ↗
  6. standardsPCI Data Security StandardPCI Security Standards Council · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: The published PCI Data Security Standard requirements for payment account data environments; it does not certify a merchant, processor, integration or POS product.
    Open source ↗
  7. standardsPCI SSC Merchant ResourcesPCI Security Standards Council · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: PCI SSC merchant guidance for identifying validation responsibilities and SAQ starting points; it does not determine the validation path without the merchant's acquiring bank and actual environment.
    Open source ↗