POS total cost is the cash and operating effort required to acquire, run, support, reconcile, change, and eventually leave the complete checkout stack. A useful model separates dated contract-defined charges from workload and risk. It should never apply a headline rate to every transaction or treat missing proposal terms as zero.
What the vendors publish
Start from the numbers each vendor prints on its own US pricing page, read October 27, 2026. Shopify's page served another currency to our request that day, so its row is marked not verified.
| Product | Published entry price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Square | $0/month software; 2.6% + 15¢ in personSquare Free planPlus $49 and Premium $149 per location/monthVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | Yes, Square Free |
| Shopify POS | Not yet verified on the vendor’s own page | Not verified |
| Clover | $16/month for 36 months, or $349 upfrontBasic (retail) planHardware included; 2.6% + 10¢ in person on BasicVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| Toast | From $0/monthStarter Kit planPoint of Sale plan from $69/month; no card rate publishedVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| Lightspeed | $89/monthBasic (Retail) planBilling basis not stated on the pageVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| Helcim | $0/month; interchange + 0.40% + 8¢ in personPay-as-you-go planCard reader $199Vendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | Yes, no monthly fee |
| SpotOn | $0 per station/month; 2.79% + 20¢ card presentAll-In (restaurant) planTwo-year minimum term and processing minimumsVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| TouchBistro | From $69/monthPoint of Sale planHardware and payment processing extraVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| PayPal Zettle | $0/month; 2.29% + 9¢ in personPayPal POS planFirst card reader $29Vendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | Yes, free POS app |
| Stripe Terminal | $0/month; 2.7% + 5¢ in personPay-as-you-go planDeveloper platform; Stripe Reader M2 $59Vendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | Yes, no monthly fee |
Prices are the entry list prices each vendor publishes on its own US pricing page, read on Oct 27, 2026. They exclude taxes, payment processing unless stated, hardware, add-ons and negotiated discounts; a promotion appears only in the notes, labeled as one. Prices change. No vendor paid for a place or a price in this table.
The spread is wider than the subscriptions suggest. Square, Helcim, PayPal Zettle and Stripe Terminal list $0 a month and charge per card payment instead (Square's in-person rate on its free plan is 2.6% plus 15 cents). Clover's retail Basic system is $16 a month for 36 months or $349 upfront with the hardware included. Toast lists a Starter Kit from $0 a month and its Point of Sale plan from $69, TouchBistro lists Point of Sale from $69, and SpotOn's restaurant All-In plan is $0 a station with a card-present rate of 2.79% plus 20 cents, a two-year term and processing minimums. Those terms, not the monthly line, are what the model below has to price.
Our pick for a small merchant is Square on its free plan, because its free plan publishes both its monthly fee and its card rate, so the model starts from two known numbers. Who should skip it: a restaurant (start with Toast) and a merchant with steady card volume who should price Helcim's interchange-plus offer against it; we compare the four $0 systems in POS systems with no monthly fee.
Build a complete cost inventory
List software by register, location, user, module, channel, or other contract unit exactly as proposed. Add devices, accessories, replacements, network, installation, training, data migration, integrations, add-ons, support tiers, and internal implementation labor. Record ownership, return, warranty, compatibility, and refresh assumptions for hardware.
Map card-present, approved keyed, invoice, online, mobile, cash, refund, dispute, and other relevant events separately. For payment-related costs, preserve the proposal's actual definitions, conditions, exclusions, and effective date. Include contract duration, renewal, minimums, termination, notice, and any separate merchant, software, equipment, or service agreements. If a cost element you listed is missing from the written proposal, treat it as an open question to send back to the vendor, not as zero.
Scenario: a low headline hides recurring work
A retailer compares two proposals. One appears simpler but needs an added connector, manual settlement joins, and separate support for devices and payments. The other has broader software but requires administrator training and modules the store may not use. Both can look cheaper when the buyer ignores owner time and exception frequency.
Model one normal month and a stressful month containing a device replacement, refund discrepancy, dispute, integration failure, and staff turnover. Assign each task to a real role and estimate effort using the buyer's own operating data. Keep uncertain inputs as ranges or unresolved questions rather than manufacturing precision.
Use a reproducible calculation workbook
Create rows for every one-time, recurring, usage-based, exception, and exit item. Columns should include source document, date, definition, quantity driver, normal case, high case, owner, evidence status, and renewal sensitivity. Separate vendor charges from internal labor and adviser or partner work.
Reconcile a synthetic day from order to payment, refund, settlement record, and accounting destination. Count required exports, portal lookups, and manual joins. If the processor issues IRS Form 1099-K, budget the time to reconcile it against your own sales records; the form is a reporting document, not a cost figure or a tax conclusion. Then model growth: another register, location, sales channel, integration, administrator, and support need. Finally, model cancellation, data retrieval, hardware disposition, and replacement overlap. POS Platform Guide provides a method, not a priced result.
Create a separate change budget. Include catalog restructuring, menu or promotion releases, permission reviews, device refresh, operating-system changes, connector maintenance, report-definition updates, and administrator succession. These are not all vendor charges, yet they determine whether the business can safely use the stack. Attribute internal time to the role that will really perform it rather than a generic owner estimate.
Counter-case: the lower monthly fee costs more
Picture a proposal whose recurring software fee is clearly lower than the alternative. It can still lose on total cost. Check three places before accepting it. First, termination: an early-exit fee, a minimum term that renews automatically, or a notice window you miss can outweigh years of monthly savings if the business changes systems or closes a location. Second, equipment: leased terminals can cost more over the lease than buying the devices outright, and the lease may continue after the software is canceled. Third, exception handling: if refunds, disputes, or settlement gaps take staff an extra hour each week because reports do not join cleanly, that labor belongs in the model at the role's real cost.
Run the comparison over the full contract term plus exit, not one month. If the cheaper fee survives termination, equipment, and exception costs, it is genuinely cheaper; if not, the headline was the wrong number to compare.
PCI DSS responsibilities can also add operating work, and using a provider does not automatically remove merchant duties. Use PCI SSC sources to identify the actual configuration, responsibilities, and validation questions, and keep provider claims, merchant tasks, security controls, and professional advice in separate rows.
Cost-model conclusion and buying criteria
Compare total cost across the same operating horizon, transaction mix, locations, devices, modules, support needs, and exit assumptions. Stress-test the variables most likely to change and note which contract definitions require confirmation. A single total without its drivers is not decision evidence.
The best-value POS is the one whose full stack produces acceptable cash cost and maintainable work for the business's real scenario. Require dated written terms, reconcile one operating cycle, price the proposed configuration, and preserve the model for renewal. Update it whenever volume, channel mix, modules, locations, contracts, or support ownership changes.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- vendorSquare official product siteSquare · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small merchants evaluating an integrated POS, payment, hardware, and business-software ecosystem. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorShopify POS official product siteShopify POS · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Retailers evaluating one commerce workflow across Shopify ecommerce and in-person selling. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClover official product siteClover · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small businesses evaluating a hardware-led POS distributed through merchant-service channels. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorToast official product siteToast · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Restaurants evaluating a restaurant-centered POS and operating stack. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorLightspeed official product siteLightspeed · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Retail and hospitality operators evaluating deeper inventory or location workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorHelcim official product siteHelcim · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: US and Canadian merchants evaluating payments and POS economics together. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorSpotOn official product siteSpotOn · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Restaurants and local businesses evaluating POS, payments, and customer operations together. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorTouchBistro official product siteTouchBistro · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Independent restaurants evaluating front-of-house and guest-management workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorPayPal Zettle official product sitePayPal Zettle · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small and mobile sellers evaluating a straightforward PayPal-connected in-person checkout. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorStripe Terminal official product siteStripe Terminal · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Software-led businesses evaluating developer-controlled in-person payments within a Stripe stack. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorSquare pricing pageSquare · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Square's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Square Free plan ($0/month software; 2.6% + 15¢ in person) and the page details recorded with it (Plus $49 and Premium $149 per location/month), and a free plan (Yes, Square Free). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorClover pricing pageClover · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clover's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Basic (retail) plan ($16/month for 36 months, or $349 upfront) and the page details recorded with it (Hardware included; 2.6% + 10¢ in person on Basic), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorToast pricing pageToast · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Toast's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Starter Kit plan (From $0/month) and the page details recorded with it (Point of Sale plan from $69/month; no card rate published), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorLightspeed pricing pageLightspeed · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Lightspeed's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Basic (Retail) plan ($89/month) and the page details recorded with it (Billing basis not stated on the page), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorHelcim pricing pageHelcim · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Helcim's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Pay-as-you-go plan ($0/month; interchange + 0.40% + 8¢ in person) and the page details recorded with it (Card reader $199), and a free plan (Yes, no monthly fee). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorSpotOn pricing pageSpotOn · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: SpotOn's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its All-In (restaurant) plan ($0 per station/month; 2.79% + 20¢ card present) and the page details recorded with it (Two-year minimum term and processing minimums), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorTouchBistro pricing pageTouchBistro · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: TouchBistro's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Point of Sale plan (From $69/month) and the page details recorded with it (Hardware and payment processing extra), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorPayPal Zettle pricing pagePayPal Zettle · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: PayPal Zettle's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its PayPal POS plan ($0/month; 2.29% + 9¢ in person) and the page details recorded with it (First card reader $29), and a free plan (Yes, free POS app). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorStripe Terminal pricing pageStripe Terminal · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Stripe Terminal's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Pay-as-you-go plan ($0/month; 2.7% + 5¢ in person) and the page details recorded with it (Developer platform; Stripe Reader M2 $59), and a free plan (Yes, no monthly fee). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- standardsPCI Data Security StandardPCI Security Standards Council · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: The published PCI Data Security Standard requirements for payment account data environments; it does not certify a merchant, processor, integration or POS product.Open source ↗
- standardsPCI SSC Merchant ResourcesPCI Security Standards Council · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: PCI SSC merchant guidance for identifying validation responsibilities and SAQ starting points; it does not determine the validation path without the merchant's acquiring bank and actual environment.Open source ↗
- regulatorUnderstanding Your Form 1099-KInternal Revenue Service · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: IRS explanation of Form 1099-K reporting, thresholds and reconciliation context; it does not establish the tax treatment of a specific payment or return.Open source ↗