These two products answer different first questions. Toast asks what kind of restaurant you run. Clover, positioned as hardware-led POS sold through merchant-service channels, effectively asks who you buy payments from. A small restaurant owner can usually settle the choice by answering both questions honestly before booking a single demo.
Verdict: Toast, unless the processor has to stay
For a restaurant where an order travels (from a server to the bar, from the bar to the line, from the line back to a table that wants a split check), Toast is the stronger pick. That coordination is what its stack is built around, and the rest of its documentation follows the same restaurant logic.
Clover wins in two cases. The first is a merchant who must keep a processor: Toast's billing FAQ states that Toast must be the sole processor and that no other processor can run alongside it. The second is a business that sells food without running like a restaurant, such as a market counter or a deli case, where the provider who already handles the card terminals can supply devices without changing the payments relationship.
Where Toast wins
Restaurant depth, written down. Toast's Offline Mode article says the system enters offline mode automatically after a lost connection, processes cards in the background as pending authorizations, asks staff to keep to one device per employee so an order and its payment stay together, and leaves declined, expired or disputed offline payments with the merchant. That is a rule set a manager can train to before the first outage.
It also helps an owner who is planning a second site. Toast's Location reports compare sales growth and labor costs across locations and date ranges, though the article does not say which plan includes them, so get that in the proposal.
The cost is commitment. Moving to Toast moves your card processing to Toast, and its billing FAQ does not say whether its hardware is required or which outside devices work. Ask both questions in writing.
Where Clover wins
Clover's case rests on the channel, not on restaurant features. A bank or local processor that sells Clover may install, service and support the devices alongside processing you already have. That suits an owner who values a known local contact over a restaurant-wide system. The weakness is that the seller's terms decide a lot: contract length, device ownership and who supports add-on apps can differ from one provider to the next, and this guide's Clover source covers positioning, not kitchen routing. If your service needs held courses or several prep stations, ask the provider to demonstrate them on your menu, not describe them.
Bookkeeping is another point to check. Commerce Sync describes a daily transfer of Clover sales into QuickBooks Online or Xero, but it is a third party and does not publish a posting map; ask who fixes a failed sync.
The deciding test
Take last Saturday's busiest hour and count two things: how many places one ticket had to reach, and whether you are bound to, or want to keep, your current processor.
- Two or more stations or held courses, and no processor to protect: choose Toast.
- A processor you must keep, whatever the kitchen: choose Clover, and have the provider prove your ticket flow in a demo.
- One prep area and orders that are taken and paid at a counter: Clover through a trusted provider is enough, and Toast's depth would go unused.
If the count lands in the first case but the processor answer is the second, the processor wins the argument. Toast does not offer a way around its sole-processor rule, so no amount of kitchen fit changes the outcome.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- vendorClover official product siteClover · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small businesses evaluating a hardware-led POS distributed through merchant-service channels. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorToast official product siteToast · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Restaurants evaluating a restaurant-centered POS and operating stack. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorToast Credit Card Processing and Billing FAQToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support FAQ on credit card processing and billing, which answers 'Can I use a different credit card processor with Toast?' with 'No. You must use Toast's processing services', states that Toast is the merchant's sole processor and that no other processor can run alongside Toast, and says a merchant leaving a former processor must contact that processor to disable it; it does not state whether Toast hardware is required or which third-party devices work, does not cover hardware lease terms, and does not publish rates or contract exit terms.Open source ↗
- vendorUse Toast in Offline ModeToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support article on Offline Mode: automatic entry after a lost connection (the article says the Offline Mode banner appears after about 40 seconds without a connection), the instruction to stick to one device per employee so order and payment information stays together, background card processing with pending authorizations, unavailable functions, delayed reporting and the merchant's responsibility for declined, expired or disputed offline payments; it is optimized for Toast hardware and does not guarantee outcomes.Open source ↗
- vendorToast Location Reports OverviewToast · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Toast support article on Location reports (last updated April 8, 2026): the Location Overview report compares sales growth and labor costs among locations and across date ranges, and the Location Breakdown report shows aggregated sales, discount and item-quantity metrics across several locations with day-of-week or hourly filters; it does not state which Toast plan includes these reports, does not cover inventory or accounting consolidation, and does not prove reporting accuracy for a specific group.Open source ↗
- vendorCommerce Sync for CloverCommerce Sync · checked Oct 7, 2026 · supports: Commerce Sync's own description of its automated daily transfer of Clover sales into QuickBooks Online or Xero; Commerce Sync is a third-party intermediary with no stated relationship to Amaka, and the page is its own claim, not Clover documentation, and does not publish a posting map or support terms.Open source ↗